Testimonials

Kristy Before After

Kristy Fons

Before I started Crossfit I would try to workout daily, but I was always bored and never motivated to get to the gym. According to my BMI I was slightly overweight and I was not happy with my body. After my back surgery in April 2013 I seriously put on weight. It wasn’t until I stepped on the scale and weighed 195 pounds and was unable to fit into my size 12 pants that I realized I really needed to make a life change.

Shortly after I saw the Groupon for Crossfit Oak Creek. I had not really heard anything about it, but I knew it had a reputation for really intense workouts. I soon joined with my best friend Stephanie in September 2013 and I wasn’t sure what to expect. Here I was in a gym where I had no idea what I was doing with people I didn’t know. In the beginning everything was completely exhausting for me. I was totally out of shape and was unable to perform many of the exercises. I used the biggest band for my pull-ups, boxes for HSPU and I could barely keep myself jogging during runs.

However no matter how sore or tired I was or how much I wanted to stop during a WOD, I kept pushing myself. I quickly saw a drop in my weight by 10 pounds just by doing the normal WODs 6 days/week. I saw progression with my endurance and strength, so I decided to push myself further. I successfully completed the Advocare challenge and began working on things after class. Slowly but surely I saw myself able to do things I was never able to do, like pull-ups without a band and HSPUs. Along with this came a true transformation of my body; it was incredible! Since I started Crossfit I have lost a total of 45 pounds and went from a size 12 to a size 6! I have never felt better!

You too can accomplish your weight loss goals if you put your mind to it. If you really want something, GO FOR IT! Always give 100% and make progressions along the way. If you place your health as a top priority in your life you will be amazed at what your body can do. There is no better feeling when all your hard work in the gym finally pays off! Never stop trying and you will succeed. GO GET IT!!

-Kristy Fons

CrossFit Family Oak Creek

We first joined CrossFit Oak Creek in June of 2014 after seeing a Groupon for it. WOW! Best workout decision we could have made! Corey, Matt, and Billy are amazing trainers and have helped us get started from ground zero and improve in so many ways. They constantly work with us and push us past the point that we would ever push ourselves. Sometimes the WODs seem insane, but when we are finished, it is one of the best and most rewarding feelings you can have! No matter what class we attend, everyone is encouraging and cheers us on.

As a family, we motivate each other to come five to six days a week between CrossFit and Body Smash. We had to modify almost every exercise when we first started. But because we continue our workouts at the gym almost daily, Corey and Matt have consistently told us how much we’ve improved. With their encouragement, support, and help, we now have goals we never would have dreamed of before coming to CFOC.

We have gained not only strength, but lost weight and inches as well! We’ve built so much confidence because of CrossFit and we honestly look forward to our workouts everyday! We couldn’t be happier and look forward to continued success here at CrossFit Oak Creek:)

-Amber, Bonnie and Ron Thom

Aron Warner CrossFit Oak CreekAron Warner

I can’t say enough about Crossfit Oak Creek. In September 2013 I saw their sign on my way to work. I had been looking for something… I just didn’t know what. I called that day and started the next morning. After a month I had lost about 10 pounds. Corey told me about Advocare and the 24day challenge and in 24 days I lost another 20 pounds. After 6 months I lost a total of 45 pounds. I didn’t go on a diet, I changed my diet. I work out for about 45 minutes on my way to work each day (Monday through Friday). I feel great and have enough energy to keep up with my 3 year old and 8 year old. Corey, Maggie and all my new friends at Crossfit Oak Creek have truly changed my life. Thank You!

– Aron Warner

Aron September 2013

Aron Warner CrossFit Oak Creek

Before:
237 pounds
36+” waist
170lb bench press

After:
192 pounds
31″ waist
250lb bench press

Aron March 2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bro Mike CrossFit Oak CreekMichael Paszkiewicz

“I first started going to CrossFit Oak Creek when it opened in September of 2012. Figuring that my older brother was the owner of it, I had to at least try it. It wasn’t until December that I was able to make it in regularly 3 times a week, between work and other obligations. I had to scale everything and it became very frustrating. However, Corey, Maggie and Brandon were always encouraging me to stick to it and I would eventually get better.

In March 2013, I was starting to attend classes 5 days a week and sometimes twice on my days off! I was doing CrossFit consistently and actually eating decent. I was starting to improve my lifts and I was picking up new skills in the process like Hand Stand Push-Ups, Snatches and Overhead Squats. Most importantly, I was becoming social with everybody in the gym – and now they all call me Bro Mike!

The thing I love most about CrossFit is the competition. We all have our WOD rivalries and I think it makes it more fun, because we push ourselves that little extra. At the end of the day, we all care about each other and that we gave the WOD our everything.

Some goals I want to reach by the end of the year are getting more Overhead Squats to 200lbs and finally getting those dreadful double unders. CrossFit Oak Creek has changed my life, not only physically, but also socially and has given me the confidence in my ability to compete.”

-Bro Mike


Libby CrossFit PregnantLibby Ream

“I started CrossFit in December 2010, when I was living in Orange County, California. I was looking for something that would push me to the same level as my college soccer playing days. I have been hooked ever since. When I moved to Wisconsin last year, I tried other Cross Fit gyms in the area and eventually settled down at CrossFit Oak Creek after they opened.

My favorite thing about CrossFit Oak Creek definitely was and still is the people. They have been instrumental in helping me through my latest challenge – CrossFitting while pregnant. The most common question I get now with my giant belly is, “Is it hard?” The answer is, “yes, it is VERY hard.” It is as hard as I make it look – I am carrying extra weight, my balance is off, and I am unable to do basic exercises that I have been doing all of my life. It is challenging both physically and mentally, and I know that I would not be able to keep going every day without the support of the coaches and members asking me how I am doing and cheering me on.

I look forward to my next big challenge at CrossFit Oak Creek – losing the baby weight. I can’t wait to start moving back in the other direction – increasing my weights, attempting difficult movements, and setting new PRs. I know it will be difficult, but I will have my support team there cheering me on every step of the way!”

-Libby Ream


Greg CrossFit MilwaukeeGreg Wiaslowski

“My wife and I heard about CrossFit Oak Creek about a year ago – I kept saying I would give it a try, but used the excuse of being busy. I have been working out at the gym a couple days a week for a few decades, so I wasn’t sure what more CrossFit would offer me. When my wife joined CrossFit Oak Creek, she was coming home so excited about the workouts – I had to find out what was getting her all fired up.

After the first workout, I came to the realization that I wasn’t as physically fit as I thought. Some of the workouts seemed intimidating and outright crazy! However, all the coaches – Corey, Maggie and Brandon – were so encouraging and positive; I figured that if they believed I could do this, I needed too as well.

At first, I had to scale everything and it was very humbling. But not one person looked down or laughed at me – everyone was encouraging and cheering me on until I finished the workout. They made the “old man of the box” feel accepted and accomplished.
I remember telling anyone and everybody that there was no way I could most of the exercises and Olympic lifts. Maggie and Corey would just smile and say “don’t worry, we’ll get you there.” The scaling worked and their knowing smiles turned prophetic.

Within a couple of months, there was definite progress and success – I was climbing ropes, box jumping and getting my toes to the bar, doing hand stand push-ups and improving my Olympic lifts. Because of Magge and Corey, I have also changed my outlook on eating too. I now understand that I need to fuel my body for these intense workouts, rather than just fill it with food. CrossFit has made me stronger, more flexible and more confident, in addition to improving my overall appearance and physique.

Corey, Maggie and Brandon are not only coaches and trainers, but people who care, encourages and listens. They push you to be the best you can be, they help you every step of the way. The other members are not only work out partners, but friends. Cross Fit Oak Creek has become a part of my family’s daily routine. It has given us a great example to show our sons that through hard work and perseverance you can accomplish what you thought you could not. ‘There are results and excuses, but never both.’

Thanks CFOC — you are making a difference!”

-Greg Wisialowski


CrossFit Oak Creek Client of MonthJill Edler

“I joined CrossFit Oak Creek right when they opened, enrolling in their On-Ramp class their first week of business. I joined intending to lose weight and to be able to get in shape in a minimal amount of time. Yes, I’ve lost weight and 2 pants sizes over the past year, but what I really did was make huge gains that I never dreamed of.

The biggest gain for me over the past year has been in my confidence and how I feel about myself. My outlook changed from self-loathing to self-loving, and I am amazed and proud with what I am able to do. I never thought a year ago that I’d be able to lift as much weight as I can, jump on a 20” box, do a headstand, or climb a rope 15 feet into the air.
I also gained valuable nutrition information from the coaches, and I no longer restrict calories but rather eat to fuel my body and my workouts. After spending decades restrictive dieting, I feel like I’ve grown to develop a healthy and sane relationship with food.

Most of all, I’ve gained new friends. I look forward to going to CrossFit every day and miss my fellow CrossFitters on days when I can’t or don’t work out. The camaraderie at Cross Fit Oak Creek is amazing and unique. It doesn’t matter if you are an athlete competing in the Open or Regionals or an athlete struggling with a difficult WOD, everyone at CrossFit Oak Creek cheers for you.

Thank you to everyone at Cross Fit Oak Creek, you all inspire me daily.”

-Jill Edler


Andrew_TestimonialAndrew Musuraca

“I joined CrossFit in December 2012 and have loved it ever since. Before CrossFit, all I did was sit around the house …and do nothing. I’m a bigger guy so I never thought things like pull-ups, rope climbs, or even running was possible for me. The encouragement of Corey, Maggie and my fellow CrossFit family has enabled me to do all that and more. I still can’t do handstand push-ups or muscle-ups, but someday I will.

My favorite part of CrossFit is when I finish a workout and have that sense of accomplishment. If someone asked me what I dislike about CrossFit, I would have to truthfully tell them…there isn’t anything about CrossFit I don’t like.

Now I have greater endurance, I’m a lot stronger and more active. People have noticed and remarked about the improvement in my physique; weight loss and increased muscle tone. CrossFit has changed my life!!! There will never be a time that this is not a part of my life and for that I will always be grateful.”

-Andrew Musuraca


Jackie_deadliftJackie Goebel

“I joined CFOC in December 2012. My biggest challenge when starting was finding the time to get to the gym – I have two young and busy girls. What I quickly learned was that it was not finding the time, but it was making the time. CFOC has become the start to my day. I try to attend Body Smash and CrossFit classes five times a week. It is truly amazing what giving one hour of your day can do for you. Not only do I feel fit and strong, but also I have so much more energy and overall good balance in life.

CrossFit Oak Creek is such a different environment from a standard gym. Here you know almost everyone by name and they are there to cheer you on along the way. I have met so many wonderful people here and it is great to workout with your friends!

I truly cannot say enough about the wonderful trainers at CFOC. I am so grateful for them and all that they do. We, as members, do the work and put the time in, but they are there encouraging and pushing us to be better than we ever thought we could be.

One of the best feelings is being able to fully do a CrossFit exercise that at one point I had to modify when I first started. I have come a long way in my months at CFOC, and look forward to working hard to achieve my next goals in the workouts!”

Favorite Exercises: Deadlifts, Rope climbs, Box jumps

Least Favorite: Snatches

-Jackie Goebel


RyanORyan Ostrowski

“I first started going to CrossFit in 2008. I love its unique style and the incorporation of old school work outs such as pull-ups, push-ups, tire flips, rope climbs, and so on. Throughout the years, I have been off and on with CrossFit and joined different gyms. Last September, I stumbled across CrossFit Oak Creek on Facebook and decided to join.

I have always considered myself an active person and have tried many different styles of working out, but I just recently found a real passion for CrossFit and I attribute that to finding this gym. I try to go every day; with the great WODs and fantastic people I have met, it’s hard not to. I have truly seen a difference in myself, not only with gains I have made with weights and WOD times, but also in my attitude towards living a healthy lifestyle.

If you would have told my girlfriend several months ago that I would become a “morning person” and attend 6 o’clock classes before work, she would have never believed it. I have grown to love the challenge of CrossFit so much that I come to the early classes a couple of times a week before a 24 or 48 hour shift at the firehouse. Also, with the great coaching at CFOC, my nutrition has really improved and I can see the difference in my appearance as well as with my energy levels.”

Favorite skill: Dead Lift/Muscle Up

Least favorite skill: SQUATS

Favorite Advocare product: SPARK

-Ryan Ostrowski


Miss Milwaukee 2012Stephanie Obst

“CrossFit Oak Creek has changed my life – my workout life! I started CrossFit in September and have been obsessed ever since. As the workouts continue to change and get harder, I am attempting and completing things I never thought possible… multiple pull ups, squatting more than I weigh, and dead lifting over 200 pounds! Corey and Maggie coach you through the entire process; learning the technique, enhancing my nutrition, but most importantly, encouraging me to be the BEST me possible. And because of this, I have lost 2 dress sizes! The best part about CrossFit Oak Creek is the people – the encouragement and the friendships that are built.

Favorite exercise: Deadlifts and Pull ups

Least favorite exercise: Snatch

Biggest Challenge: Besides all of the calluses, the biggest challenge would be listening to my body. CrossFit is a completely different workout – you don’t just show up and hop on a machine. I was so used to going to the gym and I got into the same routine every time. CrossFit challenges you… it changes you. Sometimes, you NEED a day off, not because you are lazy, but because you have gotten your butt kicked too hard.

Favorite Advocare product: Catalyst

Future Plans: Since joining CrossFit Oak Creek, I have toned up my body 110%. I have never felt more confident in my entire life. I plan to continue to work hard, train hard and eat clean. I am working on getting Butterfly and Kipping pull ups without a resistance band.

Best Part about CrossFit Oak Creek: I cannot praise the trainers enough! Corey and Maggie are trainers, coaches, nutritionists, psychologists, nurses, and most importantly, friends. They build up your confidence in moves and weights, keep you on track and eating clean, and challenge you on a daily basis. I would not be where I am today without these two.”

-Stephanie Obst – Miss Milwaukee 2012


IMG_1166Ann Musuraca

“I came to CrossFit Oak Creek with a very short term goal. I wanted to fit into an evening dress I wanted to wear for a cruise my family was taking in 4 weeks. Realistically, I didn’t expect that I would see or feel much change in those 4 short weeks. But I decided, I could only improve if I chose to do something.

Before starting at CrossFit Oak Creek, I never really worked out before. I had a health club membership years ago, but felt embarrassed and intimidated by those who obviously knew what they were doing and the image they projected. This made me uncomfortable, so I let it expire. I decided that I needed to make a serious commitment to my health and fitness if I wanted to remain active for years to come.

I began working out at CrossFit Oak Creek 3-4 times per week and was surprised that I came home each day feeling energized. I enjoyed the instruction and encouragement that I received from the trainers, Corey and Maggie, and those who worked out alongside me.
I remember the first time I tried lifting the barbell to do a deadlift or squat press. Corey and Maggie gave me individual time instructing and correcting my technique to allow me to weight lift safely. I never felt uncomfortable or awkward that day or any day since then when I come to class. We are family – everyone encourages and supports your personal efforts and accomplishments here. They truly care about your personal progress and goals and will do what they can to help you achieve them.

I was amazed to find that after 2 ½ weeks, I began to see and feel muscular definition in my arms and shoulders. My husband was pretty impressed as well. He encourages and supports me to continue working out, which helps me remain motivated. I have lost 10lbs and am now wearing a size 6 – a size I haven’t worn in 20 years!

My biggest source of motivation has come from my two older sons, who come to work out with me every day. Their commitment to finishing a WOD and giving it their very best is pushing me on. It’s exciting to see the progress they are making as they also lose weight and build muscle right along with me.

I look forward to my workouts now that I attend class 5 days a week. As I see greater results, I’m motivated to reach my next goal – lifting heavier weights or a Tough Mudder! I feel stronger and leaner than ever. I love CrossFit Oak Creek!”

-Ann Musuraca


Brian_KBrian Kucharski

“After eight years of working hard at weight loss and physical fitness, I felt I had good handle on my nutrition, but severely lacking a good workout plan. Doing 3 nights a week at a traditional gym with no guidance was yielding little results and I knew I needed a well-planned and structured program. With research and word of mouth information, I knew I wanted a high intensity work out, but was leery of strict traditional aerobic style workouts that focused heavily on cardiovascular health. CrossFit was unknown to me and a very different approach. It seemed to have everything I wanted and with friends and family joining, I decided to try a team workout.

It was awkward and there were very few of the exercises I could do – it was very humbling, but I knew this was what I was looking for. Being able to get a decent workout while learning the exercises was great and I saw results within the first two weeks. I can say with certainty that within the first month of joining and attending about 75% of the available days, I saw more concrete results than the last 8 years doing the “on my own” style of workouts. The workouts are more engaging, there is no feeling of being mundane, and each and every workout has the feeling of being complete and no time wasted.

When I started CrossFit I was around a 39-40 inch waist at 218 pounds. After 2 months I am at a 33-34 inch waist and about 216 pounds. The transfer of weight from fat to muscle has been incredible but the best part is that it is functional muscle and not just bulky muscle. Flexibility and stamina are up incredibly and my range of motion for all activities is greatly improved. All this after 2 months, I can’t even imagine what it will be like after 6 months or a year.

The style of CrossFit, the trainers and the participant interaction make for a great experience. Everyone is willing to help and encourage and the trainers are always ready to help during workouts or before and after workouts. One of my favorite aspects of CrossFit is the lack of “feeling stupid” when you don’t know the exercise or are in the beginning stages of the workouts. Nobody cares what level you are at, only help and encouragement is given.

Of all the exercises in CrossFit the one I like the most is pull-ups, not because they are the most enjoyable, because they are the most difficult and the best indicator of my progress and work yet needed. Least favorite exercise is the hand stand push up. I don’t know if I will ever RX those.”

-Brian Kucharski


Before and After Results Corey

“Incorporating CrossFit into my training has changed my health dramatically. Working out for years, I had a good base but was never where I really wanted to be. In fact, over the years I seemed to lose lots of flexibility, mobility, endurance etc. Once I started incorporating CrossFit into my workouts, I started noticing great changes. I started getting more flexible, building up my endurance, increasing strength, and totally changed how my physique looked. The best part about all of this I literally cut my workouts in half. This allowed me to spend more time doing the things I enjoy. Now, I love to share with others what I have learned and help them reach their goals as well.”

– Corey Paszkiewicz